Six candidates to contest Lochaber by-election

Notice of Poll

 Issued on behalf of The Returning Officer

Six candidates are standing for election to fill a vacancy for the Caol and Mallaig  Ward of The Highland Council.

The by-election is being held following the sad death of Councillor Billy MacLachlan who was one of three Councillors representing Ward 11. The other Ward members are Councillors Allan Henderson (Independent) and Ben Thompson (Independent)

The candidates standing are:

  • Ronald Joseph Campbell - Independent
  • Alex MacInnes - Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Catherine Margaret Mackinnon - Independent
  • Denis Rixson - Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • Ian Smith - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Colin ‘Woody’ Wood - Independent

Voting will take place on Thursday 5 April with the count taking place within the ward on Friday 6 April.

Those intending to vote are reminded that the single transferable vote system will be used. Instead of using a cross, voters should number the candidates in the order of their choice, putting a number 1 in the box next to the name of the candidate who is their first choice, 2 in the box next to their second choice and so on. Voters can mark as many choices as they wish. Voters are asked to put no other mark on the ballot paper as this could result in their vote not being counted.

Anyone eligible to vote can vote in person on the day or apply for either a postal vote or to vote by proxy. The latest time to apply for a postal vote is 5.00pm on Monday 19 March and the deadline for anyone wishing to apply to vote by proxy is Monday 26 March.  Advice on postal and proxy voting is available by contacting the Electoral Registration Office on 0800 393783.

The Notice of Poll with details of the candidates and their agents is available from The Highland Council’s website - :

The current political make-up of The Highland Council is as follows;

  • Independent (Ind) – 28
  • Scottish Conservative and Unionist (Con) – 10
  • Scottish Green Party (Green) – 1
  • Scottish Labour Party (Lab) – 3
  • Scottish Liberal Democrats (Lib Dem) – 9
  • Scottish National Party (SNP) – 19
  • Sutherland Independent Group (SIG) – 1
  • Non-aligned (NA) - 2

With 1 vacancy for the Caol and Mallaig Ward


1 Mar 2018
Tell us something about this topic How is this webpage?