​​​​​​​Community Council Nominations – October 2019


Following the recent call for candidates wishing to serve on Highland Community Councils to come forward a total of 120 Councils attracted sufficient interest to allow them to form from 12 noon on Friday 1 November.

20 Community Councils received more nominations than their maximum membership, and elections will take place for these Community Councils using a postal ballot. The 20 community councils where a postal ballot will take place are:

Caithness, Sutherland & Easter Ross:
Ardross; Dornoch; Golspie; Tarbat; Thurso; Watten

Ross, Skye & Lochaber:
Ardgour; Aultbea; Dornie and District; Ferintosh; Glenelg and Arnisdale; Kinlochleven; Plockton; West Ardnamurchan.

Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey:
Glenurquhart; Holm; Kilmorack; Nairn River; Strathdearn; Stratherrick and Foyers;

There is a withdrawal period between Wednesday 30th and 12 noon on Friday 1 November where candidates for these 20 community councils can choose to withdraw their nomination.  Ballot papers will be posted out on Friday 15 November and must be returned by 12noon Wednesday, 4 December 2019

The maximum membership of each of the Highland Community Councils is determined by the population it serves and varies from 7 to 13 members.

A total of 16 Community Councils across The Highland Council area will not be established as they failed to attract half the maximum membership.
They are:

Caithness, Sutherland & Easter Ross:
Caithness West; Rogart; Tannach and District

Ross, Skye & Lochaber:
Caol; Glendale; Glenfinnan; Mallaig; Portree and Braes; Sheildaig; Spean Bridge, Roy Bridge and Achnacarry; Uig; Waternish

Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey:
Cradlehall and Westhill; Dalwhinnie; Inshes and Milton; Strathnairn

The next opportunity for nominations to be made to those Community Council’s will be in February 2019. 

Details of the nominations and the list of results are available now from The Highland Council’s website



30 Oct 2019