Update following Community Council nominations withdrawal period

Following the close of the Community Council Nominations on Tuesday, 29 October, 20 community councils received more nominations than their maximum membership. After the withdrawal period where candidates had the opportunity to withdraw their nomination, The Highland Council has confirmed that 16 Community Councils will be contested.

They are:  

Glenelg and Arnisdale
Nairn River
Stratherrick and Foyers
West Ardnamurchan

Postal ballot papers will be mailed out on Friday 15 November and the deadline for returning them will be 12noon on Wednesday, 4 December 2019.

124 new Community Councils have formed and  16 Community Councils across The Highland Council area will not be established as they failed to attract half the maximum membership.

Cllr Alasdair Christie, Deputy Leader of the Highland Council took the opportunity to thank all the people who had put themselves forward.  He said: “We have had a record number of Community Council’s able to form and it is great news that so many people have come forward and are willing to take on this important roll. It demonstrates that the message about elections and the important role Community Councils play has been received by our communities.  My fellow Highland Councillors and I look forward to meeting the representatives and working with them.

“For those that did not attract enough interest to be able to form, the Council will be working with these communities to try to get Community Council’s in place at the next opportunity which will be February 2020.”

Details on the nominations are available on the Highland Council’s website - https://www.highland.gov.uk/info/799/elections_and_voting/643/community_councils




1 Nov 2019
How is this webpage?