Candidates for The Highland Council Ward 7 By-Election Confirmed

Issued on behalf of the Returning Officer

Following today’s deadline for nominations, The Highland Council can confirm the details of all the candidates that are standing in the Tain and Easter Ross Ward 7 by-election.

The candidates are:

  • ALLISON Gordon - Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • BARNETT Andrew - Scottish Green Party
  • CHRISTIAN Harry - Scottish Libertarian Party
  • COHEN Barbara - Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • DUNDAS Laura - Independent
  • SHEARER John - Independent
  • SHORT Eva - Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Notice of Poll & Statement of Persons nominated

Voting will take place on Thursday 13 June 2024 with the electronic count taking place the following day in the ward.

Ward 7 is a 3-member ward. The successful candidate will join fellow ward members Councillors Derek Louden (Scottish National Party) and Maureen Ross (Highland Independent).

Anyone over 16 years old who is living in the Ward is eligible to take part in this by-election if they are registered to vote. To register to vote visit or alternatively call the Electoral Registration Office on 0800 393 783 for assistance.  The last date to register to vote in this by-election is midnight on Tuesday 28 May 2024.

Voters will be able to cast their vote in person on the day by visiting their polling station or they can apply for either a postal vote to vote by post or appoint a proxy which is requesting someone to vote on their behalf.

Poll cards will be posted out and these should be checked carefully as details of where voters should go to cast their vote in person will be provided.

The latest time to apply for a postal vote is 5pm on Wednesday 29 May 2024 and the deadline for anyone wishing to appoint a proxy is 5pm on Wednesday 5 June 2024.

Advice on postal and proxy voting is available by contacting the Electoral Registration Office on 0800 393 783 or emailing

10 May 2024