Candidates confirmed for UK Parliamentary General Election 2024

copy of logo

Issued on behalf of the Returning Officer for Highland – Derek Brown

14 candidates are seeking election on Thursday 4 July 2024 for the two Highland UK Parliamentary constituencies:

  • 7 candidates are standing in the Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross constituency
  • 7 candidates in the Inverness, Skye and West Ross-shire constituency

Candidates are as follows:

Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross

  • Lucy BEATTIE - Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Steve CHISHOLM - Alba Party: Yes to Scottish Independence
  • Fiona FAWCETT - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Eva KESTNER - Scottish Labour Party
  • Sandra SKINNER -  Reform UK
  • Jamie STONE - Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • Anne THOMAS - Scottish Greens

Inverness, Skye, and West Ross-shire

  • Drew HENDRY - Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Dillan HILL -  Reform UK
  • Angus MACDONALD - Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • Peter NEWMAN - Scottish Greens
  • Darren PAXTON - Socialist Equality Party
  • Michael PERERA - Scottish Labour Party
  • Ruraidh STEWART - Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Registering to vote:

To vote in the 2024 election you must be aged 18 or over and your name must be on the electoral register. You can register to vote online. If you’re already registered to vote and haven’t moved since, you don’t need to re-register. The registration deadline is midnight on Tuesday 18 June 2024.

Anyone who would like more information on registering can get in touch with the Electoral Registration Officer, Moray House, 16-18 Bank Street, Inverness IV1 1QY. Visit:; Phone: 0800 393783 or Email:

Voting by post or by proxy:

In this election you can opt to vote in person, by proxy or by post. The deadline to apply for a new postal vote or a postal proxy application or to change an existing postal or proxy vote is by 5pm on Wednesday 19 June 2024. The deadline to apply for a proxy vote to appoint someone to vote on your behalf at a polling station is 5pm on Wednesday 26 June 2024.

You can apply online for a postal vote or a proxy vote .If you need assistance contact the Electoral Registration Officer.

Voter ID:

UK General Election: For the first time, electors voting in person at a polling station will need to show photographic ID to vote. Electors are being advised to make sure they are ready to vote by checking they have an accepted form of ID.

Accepted forms of ID include a passport, driving licence, older persons or disabled persons bus pass, and Young Scot card. The full list and further information can be viewed on our website.  Voters will be able to use expired ID if they are still recognisable from their photo.

Anyone who does not have one of the accepted forms of ID can apply for free Voter ID online or by contacting their local Electoral Registration Office. The deadline to apply for free Voter ID is 5pm on Wednesday 26 June 2024. Voters wishing to apply should first make sure they are registered to vote.

Polling Day:

Voting will take place on Thursday 4 July 2024. Polling stations across the Highlands will be open from 7am to 10pm.

The votes will be counted overnight at the Highland Football Academy in Dingwall. Live coverage from the count, including the two declarations will be available on YouTube and also on the Council’s social media channels @HighlandCouncil.

Further information on the UK Parliamentary election can be viewed on the Council’s website

#GE2024  #GE2024Highland

7 Jun 2024