Local Government by-elections

The Highland Council By-election - Election of Councillor

The Highland Council is divided into 21 Wards and elections are administered, centrally, through the Election Office.

A by-election can occur due to a vacancy e.g. death or resignation of an elected representative. It can take place during any of the ordinary local government electoral cycles, and is subject to the same statutory timetable. The votes casted in a by-election may be counted electronically or manually.

Ward 21 - Fort William and Ardnamurchan By Election

A Local Government by-election will be held on Thursday, 2 December 2021 to fill a vacancy that has arisen in Ward 21 following the sad death of Councillor Ian Ramon, one of 4 Councillors representing the Fort William and Ardnamurchan Ward.

The notice of election and further information is now available below:

Notice of poll

The candidates for Ward 21 - Fort William and Ardnamurchan are:

  • Mark DRAYTON
  • Sarah FANET - Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Roger LILEY - Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • Joanne MATHESON - Independent
  • Andy MCKENNA - Independent
  • Ruraidh STEWART - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Kate WILLIS - Scottish Green Party

Candidate and Agents were invited to participate in the online briefing session via Microsoft Teams on Thursday 4 November 2021 at 10am.  A copy of the presentation can now be viewed and provides further information about the poll, the count and expenses.

Below are the key information and statutory notices relating to the forthcoming by-election:

How to vote

To vote in this by-election, eligible residents must be registered to vote by midnight on Monday 15 November 2021.

Voting will take place between 7am and 10pm on Thursday 2 December 2021.

For more information about how to register and the different ways of voting in the election, please go to our How To Vote page,  We also have further information on our Information for Voters page.

Applications must reach the Electoral Registration Office at Moray House, 16-18 Bank Street, INVERNESS, IV1 1QY.

Anyone who is registered to vote can also arrange to have a postal or proxy vote.  For more information aboout how to register and the different ways of voting in the election, please go to our How to Vote page.

And to ensure you don't miss out on your preferred way of making your vote count, please check the list of deadlines below.

For more advice on postal and proxy voting, please email ero@highland.gov.uk or call 0800 393 783.

Key Dates

  • Monday 15 November 2021 (midnight) - Registration deadline
  • Tuesday 16 November 2021 (5pm) - Deadline for new postal vote applications and for changes to existing postal or proxy votes
  • Tuesday 23 November 2021 (5pm) - Deadline for new applications to vote by proxy (not postal proxy or emergency proxies)
  • Thursday 25 November 2021 - First date that electors can apply for replacements for lost postal votes
  • Thursday 2 December 2021 (7am to 10pm) - Polliing Day
  • Thursday 2 December 2021 (5pm) - Lat time for re-issue of spolit and lost postal votes
  • Thursday 2 December 2021 (5pm) - Deadline for emergency proxy applications
  • Thursday 2 December 2021 (9pm) - Last time to alter the Register due to clerical error or court appeal
  • Friday 3 December 2021 (2pm) - Count to be held at Lochaber High School

Further information is available here on what voters need to know prior to polling day.

Notice of election and nomination pack

Further information on becoming a Candidate

Key Information for Voters prior to polling day 

Privacy Notice

Privacy statement for registering Candidates and Agents prior to elections and referendums