Road Safety

20mph Speed Limit Programme

Legislation and guidance

The Road Safety Unit is responsible for  preparing and implementing the 20mph speed limit programme in Highland. The budget allocation for 20mph schemes is £50k per year until 2022/2033. 

Evaluation of potential scheme sites

Road traffic collision data is analysed to ensure that 20mph schemes are directed to the most appropriate locations.


Schemes (Phase 2 - Implementation)

  • Alness
  • Wick
  • Dingwall 
  • Invergordon    
  • Tain  

Schemes (Phase 1 - Early Preparation)

  • Kingussie 
  • Fort William
  • Maryburgh 
  • Caol

Schemes implemented in financial year 2017/18