Local Government by-elections

Ward 21 - Statement of Result

A Local Government by-election was held on Thursday 2 December 2021 to fill a vacancy that had arisen in Ward 21 for Councillor, Ian Ramon, one of 4 Councillors representing the Fort William and Ardnamurchan Ward.

An electronic count was held the following day on Friday 3 December 2021, and the results are now available below:


The candidates for Ward 21 - Fort William and Ardnamurchan were:

  • Mark DRAYTON
  • Sarah FANET - Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Roger LILEY - Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • Joanne MATHESON - Independent
  • Andy MCKENNA - Independent
  • Ruraidh STEWART - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Kate WILLIS - Scottish Green Party

Voting was by the single transferable vote and Sarah Fanet has emerged as the winner at stage 6 of the count.  The turnout was 25.6 per cent, there were 2,307 valid papers and 20 rejected papers.

Detailed Results