Local Government Elections

Local Government By-election

The Highland Council is divided into 21 Wards and elections are administered, centrally, through the Election Office.

A by-election can occur due to a vacancy, for example death or resignation of an elected representative. It can take place during any of the ordinary local government electoral cycles, and is subject to the same statutory timetable.

The Candidates for Ward 19 – Inverness South were:

  • Jonathan Chartier - Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • Jimmy Duncan - Alba Party
  • Ryan Forbes - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Andew MacDonald - Sovereignty
  • Duncan Cameron McDonald – Independent
  • Gordon Shanks - Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Arun Sharma - Scottish Green Party
  • Ron Stevenson - Scottish Labour Party

Voting was by the single transferable vote and DUNCAN CAMERON MCDONALD has emerged as the winner at stage 8 of the count.  The turnout was 26.3%, there were 3,305 valid papers and 20 rejected papers.

Detailed Results

You can watch the live broadcast below