Council house repairs

Scottish Housing Quality Standard

The Scottish Housing Quality Standard aims to ensure that all social housing in Scotland meets standards of decency by 2015. There are 5 requirements for homes:

  • They must meet the tolerable standard 
  • They must be free from serious disrepair 
  • They must be energy efficient 
  • They must have modern facilities and services 
  • They must be healthy, safe and secure

This aims to ensure that homes can be kept warm and free of condensation and dampness at an affordable cost. To comply with the standard, homes must have an energy efficient heating system and effective insulation