Fort William 2040 (FW2040)

Programme Board and Community Stakeholders' Group

Fort William 2040 Banner

Programme Board

The FW2040 Programme is overseen by a Programme Board, which consists of representatives from key delivery organisations. The Board meets quarterly to review progress and to identify where joined up working can help to tackle any barriers to project progression. Organisations represented on the Board are currently:

  • Highlands and Islands Enterprise
  • Crown Estate Scotland
  • Highland Council
  • Lochaber Chamber of Commerce
  • Lochaber Community Partnership
  • NHS Highland
  • Scottish Government Economic Development Directorate
  • Transport Scotland

The Board is currently chaired by Alastair Nicolson, HIE Area Manager for Lochaber, Skye and Wester Ross. The Chair rotates on an annual basis.

Community Stakeholders' Group

A FW2040 Community Stakeholders' Group was established in August 2022. The purpose of the group is to ensure clear, regular two way communication and reporting between the FW2040 Programme Board and Community Stakeholders.

Stakeholder representatives can discuss individual projects and communicate their views and ideas to the FW2040 Programme Board. It is also a means to identify opportunities where stakeholders can actively assist in progressing individual projects, and it contributes to the overall collaborative approach that underpins FW2040.

The group also meets quarterly, mid-way between Board meetings. Organisations represented on this group are:

  • Ardgour Community Council
  • Caol Community Council
  • Fort William, Inverlochy and Torlundy Community Council
  • High Life Highland Adult and Youth Services
  • Highland Council Ward 11 - Councillor John Grafton
  • Highland Council Ward 21 - Councillor Angus MacDonald
  • Kilmallie Community Council
  • Lochaber Environmental Group
  • Nether Lochaber Community Council
  • Spean Bridge, Roy Bridge and Achnacarry Community Council
  • Voluntary Action Lochaber

This group is Chaired by Dr Michael Foxley of Ardgour Community Council. The Chair also rotates on an annual basis.